It’s the Climb

Standard

I’m sorry if you came here expecting something about a Miley Cyrus concert. I refuse to condone anything she does after she stopped wearing pants (and anything she did before she stopped wearing pants). Instead, this climb is meant to refer to my first real rock climb that I did with some friends in New River Gorge, West Virginia.

541125_4691119239944_2056430052_n

Everything about the National Park was absolutely stunning. The cliffs overlooking the water; the contrast between the vibrant green leaves and the foliage just beginning to turn a fiery red. The air was that perfect fall mix of river and fresh earth.

481011_4691120639979_441090037_n

The New River is actually one of the oldest rivers on the continent. (It’s called the New River because it’s like those grandmas that insist they’re still 62 when they’re actually 83). I’ve heard rivers get more windy and run slower as they get older, but I still judge a river’s age by how many times it loses its glasses and if it gets huffy when the neighbors are making too much noise at 9:00 PM. While the New River still looks pretty young to me, the aged sandstone cliffs are beautiful wrinkled.

377295_4691127320146_1709080045_n

For my very first real rock climb, I did a 5.9. The New River Gorge is one of the most popular climbing destinations in the US, and most climbs are 5.9 and above, with the cliff height ranging from 30 to 100 feet. I couldn’t have done it without the encouragement I was getting from my friends below. I’d been climbing 5.7’s in the gym, but when we got out there to the real thing, I was excited to challenge myself to something even harder. My fingers were exhausted to the point where I could barely use them to grip the rock-face. In fact, quite a few times I involuntarily let go (thank goodness I was being belayed, is all I can say. That would have been an uncomfortable fall). Once you hit that point of utter exhaustion, it can be hard to keep going, but with my friends motivating me, I made it to the top.

564095_4691159760957_1625450884_n

The fun thing is that no matter how often you climb an indoor wall before you go climb a real one, you’re never quite prepared. In some ways, you’re pumped that you’re doing it outside of the gym; it’s real and it’s all up to you to decide how to tackle the challenge. And yet, you’re also looking around for the color-coded handles that tell you where to put your feet and feel an overwhelming sense of relief when you find the leftover chalk prints of someone who climbed before you. (Or sometimes that causes frustration when you can’t seem to get your fingers into that same tiny crevice). You have to push your limits and use muscles and determination that you didn’t even know you had. In the end, you shock yourself that you’re able to climb a completely vertical slab of rock that looks like it was made for Spiderman.

385595_4697278233915_447993764_nLooking out from the top was breathtaking and well worth the effort. (Sorry, no pictures. I didn’t climb with my camera). However, I’ve decided that there is nothing like a beautiful view to make you forget you can’t feel your fingers.

2 responses »

  1. It’s amazing how nature can bring out the best in you! I have never been rock climbing in the wild, but have taken part in the indoor variety on several occasions. It’s an awesome way to work every single muscle in your body (including the mental muscle between your ears ;-)).

    It must be an incredible feeling to not have a color-coded plan laid out for you and successfully navigate to the view from above. I guess finding your way takes on so many different meanings 🙂

    Congratulations on the accomplishment and thank you for sharing it with us!

    • Hi Dave,
      Thanks so much! I definitely recommend rock climbing in the wild if you get the chance. It’s such a different experience and very rewarding! It’s so cool to see what you can accomplish on your own without any color-coded hints(: Thanks for reading and for your kind words! I appreciate it(:

Leave a Reply

