That’s Just My MO (Musée d’Orsay)

Standard

Places: France #2: Go to the Musée d’Orsay

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ll admit, my MO usually involves avoiding museums at all costs. They have old things in them, they smell funny, they’re more than unnaturally dark, and all people do in them is bump into each other while they stare at walls. In fact, upon hearing any sort of wail of distress, I usually check to make sure it’s not me before wrongfully blaming a small child. Lucky for this MO, the only kind of museum that I sometimes don’t mind is an art museum, but even then I face some setbacks. I mean, is it really that immature of me to wonder which of the paintings could be enhanced by a swift swipe of a crayon? (Personally I think La Buveuse d’Absinthe would look dashing with a mustache).

Screen Shot 2013-09-04 at 10.10.40 PM

What she’d look like with a mustache

But the Musée d’Orsay was different. It was incredible. I didn’t cry once (not even in line, because while everyone else was sure to be waiting for over an hour, we got in in under 10 minutes with our handy Museum Passes). I was blown away by the rooms of gorgeous paintings and sculptures; especially the art of the Neo-Impressionists (which, incidentally, I nearly missed entirely. Thank goodness my father got lost and I went into a room in search of him).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Also, I immediately did a double take when I saw Giovanni Boldini’s Le Comte Robert de Montesquiou. Why–that very image graced the cover of my favorite Oscar Wilde play, The Importance of Being Earnest. This was far too exciting (no really, for what it was I was far too excited–I felt compelled to grab my mother and tell her about it).

IMG_4187

There was Monet and Manet (I don’t know what he’s famous for except having a name remarkably similar to Monet’s). We even saw Van Gogh, who was looking dapper and slightly less earless than usual, and Starry Night! (Well, Starry Night Over the Rhone…which they cleverly just labeled “Starry Night” hoping people wouldn’t know any better). Despite not being as famous, it is just as gorgeous, and I stood captivated by it for quite some time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Walking through each room, I was overwhelmed by the artsiness of it all. Even the cafeteria looked magnificent. The beauty continues even at the end of the walk through the museum: there is a giant reception room with a rather oversize clock window from which you are offered yet another spectacular view of such monuments as the Louvre and Sacre Coeur.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I must say that although I was looking forward to the Musée d’Orsay more than any other type of museum besides one where you were allowed to add your own crayon commentary, it surpassed my expectations, and I absolutely adored every second of my visit. Well, except for the time that a woman told me not to take any pictures….Whoops!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 responses »

  1. Even though I’ve been to Paris twice, I’ve never gone to the MO. I really don’t like museums and normally avoid them whenever possible (I made an exception for the Louvre) …. but you really make me want to go back and see this one. Wow – good job!!

    • Everyone should make an exception for the Louvre!(: But I loved the MO, it was definitely less overwhelming than the Louvre (although it was still a bit crowded in some areas) and if you happen to already have a museum pass and can take a quick visit to the parts that most interest you, I’d say it’s definitely worth it!(: I hope you have a great day!(:

Leave a Reply

