Two Elephants and a Giraffe: A Big Thank You

Standard

photo

It finally happened! Lauren Conrad’s getting married! And The Knee Deep Life just broke 200 followers! No, not like that–they’re all intact. Mostly. I think. Although 200 followers might not equate to blogging fame, when you have such quality supporters like I do, it counts for a heck of a lot. And if you don’t know what a heck of a lot equates to, let me help break it down for you. Wrapping your head around the enormity of 200 people is hard to do when the dorm party limit is 8, so I had to be resourceful when coming up with other visual aids.

First, I discovered that 200 followers is about 34,000 pounds of pure fanage (I called each of your doctors–it was very important to me). Which, using some very complex and highly accurate calculations equals about 2.27 very large elephants, or about 4.42 small ones. Then I went with height. That’s about 13,400 inches of followers. Which equals about 69.79 small giraffes or 58.4 big ones. And then, just before I tried to tabulate the number of shark followers using teeth (Alright…maybe just after. It’s about 2.4 very toothy sharks), I realized something. Not only is it apparently the easiest to acquire giraffes, none of what I’m doing is making any sense, nor is it making anything easier to visualize.

So I decided I should just get on with it, and write you all a beautiful Thank You Poem:

Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

I just want to say,

Thank you.

And then I realized that although I’m in Contemporary American Poetry, I know nothing about actually writing a poem. So I decided that maybe the best way to go would be by writing a somewhat over the top, but altogether heartfelt thank you note. So that’s what I did.

Dear KDLers,

It’s hard to believe that it all began on June 14th, just a few short months ago. (5, if we’re really counting). Some bloggers might not be excited to reach 200 followers, and hold out on any sort of celebration until they reach 4 digits. But I believe that Oreos are milk’s favorite cookie, that Bruce Willis one day might grow some hair, that Humpty Dumpty will get put together again, and that you should write thank you notes early and often, because you never know when you might get the chance to thank someone again. Call me an idealist, call me a dreamer. But no matter what you say, I will enjoy the small stuff, like having at least 58 awesome giraffes following my blog.

And I want to thank each of you very sincerely for being a part of my blogging journey. You have helped make KDL into something even bigger, something even better, than I could have hoped for. (Because I was pretty convinced that the only people who would read my posts would be my immediate family…and only when I forced them). So I just want to take a moment to celebrate you. You’re all amazing, and you deserve to be reminded how special and appreciated you are. Every little thing that you’ve done or said has made a blogger believe in themselves a bit more, made them smile a bit more, made them write a bit more. I know it’s done that for me. Every view, every like, every comment, every follow, every reference to a friend has been the hugest compliment that I can imagine. So thank you times 200. Do you feel that? That’s me giving you a hug.

What’s next for KDL? Well, as one of my biggest Bucket List heroes, Lesley Carter, has said: The more unrealistic I am with my dreams and goals, the more I’m able to achieve. So let’s make this 200 into 2,000 as I continue to shoot for more adventures. I can’t wait for this KDL Community to keep growing into something even more out of this world awesome! Keep on making those Bucket Lists, keep on appreciating the small things, keep on living your lives to the fullest, and keep on KDLing, friends. You’re all the greatest, and I’m so excited to have you along with me!

Thank you,

Alyssa

6 responses »

  1. Alyssa, you have a gift. A way of conveying thought-provoking and insightful observations in a captivating way. Whenever I read one of your posts (which I look forward to immensely), I feel as though we are sitting down and chatting over a cup of coffee. It’s not only the information that you convey, but the aura that you create that is so special. Personally, I see a whole lot more elephants and giraffes in your future. You better secure some land so you can open your own zoo 😉

    Seriously, though, thank you for just being you. It’s a pleasure to meet someone with their authenticity shining through their words. I consider myself very privileged to have crossed paths with you in the blogosphere. Keep writing, we’re all waiting 🙂

    • Dave, thank you so much for your kindness! From the day we crossed paths you have been there to offer your support and encouragement, and I can’t tell you how much I appreciate it. Having people like you in my blogging community is what makes it all worth while! You inspire me with your own spectacular posts, and I am honored to have you as a blogging buddy!(: Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

